A good majority of authors have similarities between their works. The novel Waterland and Last Orders share this fingerprint that is created from within. First, the characters in both novels share the similarity of seeing war firsthand.The character set in Last Orders met and created bonds during the second World War. Tom Crick, book 1, gained his small-town fame by trampling on the fascist powers overtaking Europe.This only makes sense because Swift was born in the late 40's and was forced to grow up with the iron curtain clearly visible Second, the two book explore the meaning of life, friendship, and family which seems to be a very common topic of Swift's. Lastly, the two books mentioned are set in small towns with the main characters, or the parents of, being middle of the road when it comes to wealth due to working a skilled job.
Andrew Maw
2/6/2013 06:38:28 am

I read the first two sections of your analysis on Waterland. The analysis itself was very good. I found little or no summary. The Foils section was particularly good. Although, I did notice a grammatical error now and then.

Reply
2/6/2013 07:28:27 am

Dear student of literature, I like the site and its organization. I find the analysis interesting and the links to other spots helpful. As a lover of maps, I like that you included one in your analysis. It makes sense since the landscape is so important in that book. I hope that this next book can live up to the expectations of the first. Keep me posted.

Reply
Rosario
2/6/2013 08:52:02 am

Hello there prosperous student of literature who goes by the name of "Kody." Since you are the third man on my list, I must critique your first two sections of analysis. Here is my critique of your first two sections of analysis. *Cough* *Cough* Ok then. Your analysis of the foils and setting is very nice. There is a nice balance between using some background details in the beginning sentences and then going through with analysis to the end. I felt the analysis was very thorough in the topics being discussed. As you may have read in Andrew's comment, I believe there may be some derpy derps here and there. In the third sentence the word "that" might be better replaced with "than."

Reply
Anna Olander
2/6/2013 12:24:03 pm

I read the last two parts of your analysis, and it makes me want to read your book. I think your analysis is by far superb and you did a wonderful job with its organization. I can follow it easily, and I haven't been able to find any mistakes. As a visitor of this site, it appears that you are enjoying learning about this author, and apparently that you are a student of literature.

Reply
James Phan
2/6/2013 12:58:03 pm

Hello, Kody! I read the first two sections of analysis, and I was blown away! I especially liked the foil between the Crick brothers; it was quite insightful! You portrayed the foil and its meanings in such a great way, that if I had the time, I would read that novel as well! Great job!

Reply
Darby
2/10/2013 11:28:09 am

Your analysis was spot-on and every enjoyable to read. I like the way you broke up the analysis itself, however I'm not a big fan of the analysis separated into two separate main tabs. Perhaps putting them in a drop-down menu, or housing them under a tab for the book the analysis is about?

Reply



Leave a Reply.